

SPECIAL POLICY AND RESOURCES COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Of a meeting held at Watersmeet, High Street, Rickmansworth on Tuesday 24 May 2022 from 8.27pm to 8.28pm.

Councillors present:

Sarah Nelmes (Chair) Stephen Giles-Medhurst (Infrastructure & Planning Policy) (Vice Chair) Stephen Cox Philip Hearn Chris Lloyd (Leisure) Keith Martin (Resources and Shared Services) Abbas Merali Paul Rainbow (Economic Development and Transport) Reena Ranger Ciaran Reed Andrew Scarth (Housing) Phil Williams (Environment, Climate Change and Sustainability)

Other Councillors in attendance: Sara Bedford, Ruth Clark, David Coltman, Steve Drury, Andrea Fraser, Rue Grewal, Lisa Hudson, Tony Humphreys, Khalid Hussain, Raj Khiroya, Stephen King, Shanti Maru, David Major, Debbie Morris, Kevin Raeburn, David Raw, Stephanie Singer, Jon Tankard, Kate Turner and Anne Winter

Officers Present: Alison Scott, Shared Director of Finance Geof Muggeridge, Director of Community and Environmental Services Ciara Feeney, Solicitor to the Council Kimberley Rowley, Head of Regulatory Services Sarah Haythorpe, Principal Committee Manager Lorna Attwood, Committee Manager

PR01/22 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence was received from Councillor Roger Seabourne.

PR02/22 NOTICE OF OTHER BUSINESS

None received.

PR03/22 DECLARATION OF INTERESTS

None received.

PR04/22 LOCAL PLAN AND EQUALITIES SUB-COMMITTEES OF POLICY AND RESOURCES COMMITTEE

The report was being presented to the special Policy and Resources Committee to re-establish the following sub-committees of the Policy and Recourse Committee for 2022/23: Local Plan and Equalities.

The meeting had been included in the calendar of meetings specifically for this item of business as the two sub-committees will meet before the first ordinary meeting of the Policy and Resources Committee on 13 June 2022.

The report proposed that the Members appointed to them be proportional based on the number of seats each Group has following the election on 5 May.

Any Member of the Council could be appointed as a Member of a sub-committee. This was agreed by the Policy and Resources Committee at their meeting on 14 June 2021 (Minute No.PR05/21 refers). In addition any Member can be a substitute.

The Members appointed to the two sub-committees should have the following proportional membership: 5, 3 and 1.

It was proposed that a separate report be taken to the ordinary Policy and Resources Committee meeting on 13 June to re-establish the Constitution subcommittee (as there is no urgency for this sub-committee to be re-established). Also to be included in the report will be to discuss if the Covid-19 Response subcommittee is re-established for 2022/23 although it was not re-established for 2021/22.

Councillor Sarah Nelmes proposed, duly seconded, the recommendations in the report.

On being put to the Committee the motion was declared CARRIED the voting being unanimous.

RESOLVED:

- That the two sub-committees be re-established (Local Plan and Equalities) and that Members be appointed with the following proportional membership: 5, 3 and 1 with any Member of Council being able to be appointed to the subcommittee subject to Political Proportionality Rules.
- 2. That the Members names be as follows:

Local Plan sub-committee:

Stephen Giles-MedhurstMatthew BedfordStephen CoxRue GrewalPhil HearnSarah NelmesReena RangerJon TankardPhil WilliamsSarah Nelmes

Equalities sub-committee:

Stephen Giles-Medhurst Stephen Cox Rue Grewal Andrew Fraser Raj Khiroya Abbas Merali Sarah Nelmes Roger Seabourne

- 3. Agreed:
 - a. That no decision making powers be delegated to the sub-committees;

Anne Winter

b. That all Members of Council to be substitute Members.

4. That a separate report be presented to the ordinary meeting of the Policy and Resources Committee on 13 June 2022 to re-establish the Constitution subcommittee and on whether to re-establish the Covid-19 Response subcommittee for 2022/23.

CHAIR