



The Minutes of an Extraordinary meeting of **COUNCIL** held at Penn Chamber, on **Tuesday 21 January 2020** from 7.30pm to 7.38pm.

Present: Councillors Paula Hiscocks (Chair), Keith Martin (Vice-Chair), Matthew Bedford, Sara Bedford, Marilyn Butler, Joanna Clemens, Stephen Cox, Steve Drury, Donna Duncan, Peter Getkahn, Stephen Giles-Medhurst, Margaret Hofman, Tony Humphreys, Raj Khiroya, Joan King, Chris Lloyd, David Major, Shanti Maru, Sarah Nelmes, Reena Ranger, Michael Revan, David Sansom, Alison Scarth, Andrew Scarth, Roger Seabourne, Stephanie Singer, Dominic Sokalski, Jon Tankard, Martin Trevett, Alison Wall, Stephen King, Debbie Morris and Kate Turner.

CL65/19 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Joy Mann, Alex Michaels, Debbie Morris, David Raw and Phil Williams.

CL66/19 COUNCIL TAX BASE FINANCIAL YEAR 2020/21

Councillor Matthew Bedford moved, duly seconded, the recommendations in the report. He advised that this was purely a mathematic calculation based on the factual situation of the number of properties in each part of the District.

On being put to Council the motion was agreed CARRIED by the Chairman the voting being unanimous.

RESOLVED:

That the calculation of the Council's tax base for the year 2020/21 be approved.

That in accordance with the Local Authorities (Calculation of Tax Base) (England) Regulations 2012, the amount calculated by the Three Rivers District Council as its council tax base for the year 2020/21 shall be:-

Batchworth 6456.9 Chorleywood 6312.9 Croxley Green 5642.6 Sarratt 1102.8 Watford Rural 7220.8	Parish	Band D Equivalents
Batchworth 6456.9 Chorleywood 6312.9 Croxley Green 5642.6 Sarratt 1102.8 Watford Rural 7220.8		2020/21
Chorleywood 6312.9 Croxley Green 5642.6 Sarratt 1102.8 Watford Rural 7220.8	Abbots Langley	8773.4
Croxley Green 5642.6 Sarratt 1102.8 Watford Rural 7220.8	Batchworth	6456.9
Sarratt 1102.8 Watford Rural 7220.8	Chorleywood	6312.9
Watford Rural 7220.8	Croxley Green	5642.6
. ==0.0	Sarratt	1102.8
Unnarished Area 3703 3	Watford Rural	7220.8
Oripanished Area 3700.0	Unparished Area	3703.3
Total District 39212.6	Total District	39212.6

CL67/19 INTERIM APPOINTMENT OF SECTION 151/CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER AND APPOINTMENT TO DIRECTOR ROLE

Councillor Sara Bedford said as Members would be aware Joanne Wagstaffe would become the Council's permanent Chief Executive from 3 February. The Council must have a Section 151 Officer/Chief Financial Officer which was laid down in statute. There was no better person than the current Head of Finance to take on that role. There would need to be a recruitment process to fill the post permanently but this way we had someone internally to cover the roles in the interim.

Councillor Sara Bedford was pleased to move the recommendations as set out in the report.

On being put to Council the motion was agreed CARRIED by the Chairman the voting being unanimous.

RESOLVED:

The following appointments be agreed from 3 February 2020:

- Alison Scott, Interim Section 151 Officer and Chief Financial Officer (CFO);
- Alison Scott, Director on Three Rivers Commercial Services Ltd.

CL68/19 APPROVAL OF THE NEW ARRANGEMENTS FOR THE CHILTERNS CONSERVATION BOARD

The Chairman advised that this item of business was a late/urgent item of business as the report had not been available for five clear working days before the meeting.

The reason for urgency was to enable the Council to advise the Chilterns Conservation Board of its decision so that they can advise the Ministry of Housing Communities and Local Government (MHCLG) and a new statutory instrument can be put before Parliament on 24 February 2020.

Councillor Sara Bedford said she had only received notification from the Chilterns Conservation Board late on Friday afternoon last week who had required an urgent response. She had advised this was not an answer she could give herself but luckily the Council meeting tonight was taking place to enable this report to be put forward. There was no loss to Three Rivers in accepting the recommendation.

Councillor Joanna Clemens asked if all that was changing was the fact that Buckinghamshire was going to be one unitary authority and nothing was being put through un-noticed on the back of this change. Councillor Sara Bedford said that the only change was that instead of five Councils in Buckinghamshire having one vote each Buckinghamshire Council would have 5 votes.

Councillor Joanna Clemens asked a supplementary question that if they had five seats on the Board did they have to pay five times as much. Councillor Sara Bedford said that there would be no change to the way the figures were calculated. This recommendation was as she had outlined but had to be agreed tonight so that it could be presented before Parliament on 24 February 2020 by the Minister.

On being put to Council the motion was agreed CARRIED by the Chairman the voting being unanimous.

RESOLVED:

Agreed that Buckinghamshire Council can continue to have five members on the Board when the new Buckinghamshire Council comes into effect on 1 April 2020 and that a letter is sent to the CEO of the Chilterns Conservation Board from the Leader of the Council to this effect.

CHAIR